Crow and Gull Play with Balls on Lost Lagoon

Here’s a video I shot just before I left Stanley Park on Wednesday. It’s of a Northwestern Crow and Glaucous-winged Gull finding some amusement in two balls that found their way onto an iced over Lost Lagoon. Despite the ubiquity of crows almost everywhere in Vancouver I still enjoy seeing what they’re up to. Their social nature and intelligence often lead to interesting interactions with the human landscape and unique solutions to surviving in the city.

1 Response to “Crow and Gull Play with Balls on Lost Lagoon”


  1. 1 Gillian February 24, 2015 at 10:53 am

    That video is awesome! I love how playful some birds can be. One fall I watched two Ring-billed Gulls (do you have them out there?) have some sort of competition where one would pick up a leaf off the ground and hold it in its beak, and then the other gull would pick up a leaf and hold it in its beak. It was a windy day, so when the first gull lost its leaf in the wind, it immediately picked up another one, so the second gull picked up another! This went on for a good 5-10 minutes. I am not sure what they were going to do with the leaves, but it was pretty amusing.

    I’m thinking about doing some birding in Vancouver some day, which is how I found your blog – I blog about the birds in Ottawa, though it’s been a tough, cold winter this year and I haven’t been able to get out much. Another reason why Vancouver sounds so good right now!


Leave a Reply

