New Camera and a Virginia Rail at Lost Lagoon!

This past weekend I got a new camera, one that I can finally take some better bird photos with; a Canon SX50 HS. If you’ve visited this blog before you can see how awful some of my bird photos are! I’ve been holding a camera or my phone up to my binoculars or spotting scope and the results haven’t been that great; often one can’t even tell what species is in the picture.

The other benefit to a super zoom like this is being able to document a sighting. This was illustrated in my last post twitching the Red-flanked Bluetail in New Westminster. Even if the photos aren’t great you can at least still tell what species it is. Hopefully I’ll also be able to post more often now that I’ve got something that resembles a bird to show everyone!

Today I took a walk around Lost Lagoon at Stanley Park and came across a Virginia Rail in the marsh impoundment at the north east corner. Normally there would be no way I could get a recognizable photo of such a shy fast moving bird; even though it was only a metre or two away from where I stood. I had to crank up the ISO as it was overcast and the reeds plus the overhanging trees made for some dim conditions. But at least you can tell it’s a Virginia Rail!

I spent about fifteen minutes with the bird before it scuttled off into the reeds. By standing completely still it grew comfortable enough to venture out into the open a couple of times, and even take a bath at one point. Every time someone would walk past it would run into some thicker reeds and once they’d past it would pop back out again. It was a real privilege being so close to a bird that is normally quite well hidden and shy!

42 Responses to “New Camera and a Virginia Rail at Lost Lagoon!”


  1. 1 jvic31 January 21, 2013 at 7:24 am

    appreciate the blog on your camera I am looking to upgrade and stumbled across this post… 🙂 I have been involved in birding for only a few years and have stayed close to binoculars and books. Photos like these tell me it realy is time to purchase a new camera.

  2. 2 Birding in Vancouver January 21, 2013 at 9:20 pm

    Thanks jvic31! It’s only now that I’ve been able to afford a camera capable of taking decent bird photos and it opens up a whole new side to the hobby.

  3. 3 adiphene side effects June 2, 2014 at 10:56 am

    They made use of the exact same innovative science to create Adiphene as they did Phen375,
    and this wound up developing a fantastically safe, unbelievably effective dietary fat burning supplement that other business envy.

    Adiphene is a fats burner slimming capsules that been produced
    from 12 substances. Adiphene are being marketed
    as safe weight-loss drugs and going by the numbers so far,
    have turn into extremely popular.

  4. 4 google June 17, 2014 at 12:06 pm

    Yes, you guessed it right – more leads, more listings, more closed deals, and definitely more money for
    you. People have different views, but you can never know who to trust.
    Once your site has been verified Google will regularly check if the verification is still valid.

  5. 5 adiphene fat burner June 25, 2014 at 12:48 am

    In summary, if you need to lose weight, go anywhere and complete
    boot camp class. Assuming this is the case, we determinedly sway you to read the whole page.
    For your self-guidance, are able to go through top quality weight loss product reviews and are allowed to know upon the most-sought after
    available inside the market from the reputed pharmaceutical
    brands.

  6. 6 what diet pills work July 10, 2014 at 9:46 am

    Aw, this was a very good post. Finding the time and actual effort to produce a top
    notch article… but what can I say… I put things off a whole lot and don’t seem to get anything done.

  7. 7 prescription diet pill reviews July 10, 2014 at 12:00 pm

    Thanks for the good writeup. It in truth
    was once a amusement account it. Look complicated to more brought agreeable from you!
    However, how could we keep up a correspondence?

  8. 8 jonathan smithers July 19, 2014 at 8:32 am

    I don’t know if it’s just me or if everyone else experiencing issues with your website.
    It appears like some of the written text in your
    content are running off the screen. Can somebody else
    please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them as
    well? This may be a issue with my web browser because I’ve had this happen before.
    Kudos

  9. 9 best ways to lose weight fast July 22, 2014 at 10:27 am

    I surely like your web page and you need to confirm the punctuational with a number of of one’s discussions. Quite a few are generally filled along with spelling troubles and I to locate the idea very irritating to see the truth even so Let me absolutely can come just as before once more.

  10. 10 how to lose belly fat and gain muscle July 25, 2014 at 7:19 am

    You need to be a part of a contest for one of the highest quality sites on the net.
    I will highly recommend this website!

  11. 11 anxiety attack cures July 28, 2014 at 7:51 am

    Wow! Finally I got a web site from where I be able to really take helpful data concerning
    my study and knowledge.

  12. 12 x-slim August 1, 2014 at 5:56 pm

    I think that everything said was actually very logical.

    But, what about this? suppose you typed a catchier title?
    I ain’t suggesting your information is not good., but suppose
    you added something to possibly get folk’s attention? I mean New
    Camera and a Virginia Rail at Lost Lagoon! | Birding in Vancouver
    is a little boring. You might look at Yahoo’s home page and watch how they create article headlines to get viewers to click.
    You might add a related video or a related picture or two to grab people interested about everything’ve
    written. Just my opinion, it would make your posts a little bit more
    interesting.

  13. 13 Home Weight Training August 12, 2014 at 3:57 am

    Hello there, basically evolved into aware about your website via The search engines, and found that it’s absolutely educational. I’m usually mindful with regard to the city. I am going to enjoy in case you proceed this kind of in the future. Plenty of others will be benefited from the composing. Kind regards!

  14. 14 Shantell August 27, 2014 at 4:39 am

    Nice post. I was checking constantly this weblog and I’m impressed! Extremely useful information specifically the remaining part 🙂 I deal with such information much. I used to be seeking this particular information for a long time. Thanks and best of luck.

  15. 15 Dorris August 28, 2014 at 6:18 pm

    At this time it sounds like Drupal is the best blogging platform out there right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re using on your blog?

  16. 16 carbuloss quanto costano September 17, 2014 at 11:08 pm

    Hey I am so thrilled I found your webpage, I really found you by mistake, while I was researching on Yahoo for something else, Nonetheless I am here now
    and would just like to say thank you for a remarkable post and
    a all round interesting blog (I also love
    the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but I have
    book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I
    have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the fantastic work.

  17. 17 big dick September 26, 2014 at 8:01 am

    Hi, I think your site may be having browser compatibility problems.
    When I take a look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine however, if
    opening in Internet Explorer, it’s got some overlapping issues.
    I simply wanted to give you a quick heads up! Apart from that, great site!

  18. 18 offshore dedicated server October 7, 2014 at 7:31 pm

    Thanks in favor of sharing such a fastidious thought, piece of
    writing is pleasant, thats why i have read it completely

  19. 19 Esta talonera de silicona precio troy October 22, 2014 at 5:43 pm

    What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve discovered It absolutely useful
    and it has helped me out loads. I’m hoping to contribute & help other customers like its
    helped me. Great job.

  20. 20 bokashi-organico.com May 5, 2015 at 5:35 am

    REQUIREMENT FOR LEGAL FRAMEWORK The need for the legislative guidelines is thatthere must be a permanent policy as to landfill management.

    In that company screening system aims to improve the removal of
    ocular material such as plastic bags that often find their way into organics recycling stream before it is go into compost, soil
    and mulch. Mead – Westvaco, a packaging company, says that
    it is joining up with two other companies to construct a plant where biogas and
    other products will be made from organic waste streams.


  1. 1 adjustable weight dumbbells Trackback on June 17, 2014 at 1:37 pm
  2. 2 anxiety Trackback on June 17, 2014 at 1:37 pm
  3. 3 free weights Trackback on June 17, 2014 at 1:37 pm
  4. 4 crippling panic attacks Trackback on June 17, 2014 at 1:38 pm
  5. 5 panic away anxiety Trackback on June 17, 2014 at 1:38 pm
  6. 6 best product for acne Trackback on June 17, 2014 at 1:38 pm
  7. 7 adjustable dumbbells Trackback on June 17, 2014 at 1:39 pm
  8. 8 anxiety results Trackback on June 17, 2014 at 1:39 pm
  9. 9 ironmaster adjustable dumbbells Trackback on June 17, 2014 at 1:41 pm
  10. 10 workout equipment Trackback on June 17, 2014 at 1:43 pm
  11. 11 tinnitus retraining therapy Trackback on June 17, 2014 at 1:48 pm
  12. 12 dumbbells for sale Trackback on June 17, 2014 at 1:49 pm
  13. 13 natural supplements Trackback on June 21, 2014 at 11:25 am
  14. 14 phen375 fat burner Trackback on June 22, 2014 at 5:27 am
  15. 15 product reviews Trackback on June 22, 2014 at 5:34 am
  16. 16 buy phen375 Trackback on June 22, 2014 at 6:07 am
  17. 17 weight loss pills. Trackback on June 23, 2014 at 2:26 am
  18. 18 Rev Test Trackback on September 16, 2014 at 6:04 am
  19. 19 Bellagenix Review Trackback on September 30, 2014 at 6:18 pm
  20. 20 Herbal X Reviews Trackback on October 24, 2014 at 1:05 pm
  21. 21 Platinum Cleanser Trackback on November 1, 2014 at 3:16 am
  22. 22 True Cambogia Review Trackback on January 31, 2015 at 8:20 pm

Leave a Reply

