Naheeno Park: May 12th 2010

Wednesday was the start of the summer term at SFU and, happening to have a break between classes and no homework as of yet, I decided to have another look at Naheeno Park. The last time I wrote about birding Naheeno Park it was winter and the birds were common and not particularly abundant. This time, however, there was a fair bit more going on.

The trees were now covered with leaves and the understory was a thick tangle of brush; insects were everywhere. There were quite a few American Robins about, many of them singing and out of sight in the forest but I flushed quite a few as I made my way down the trails. More interestingly (not that American Robins aren’t interesting in their own right) numerous Wilson’s Warblers and several Orange-crowned Warblers were singing up in the canopy.

I spent most of my time along the trail that parallels the power lines as this is where a large amount of the activity was occurring. I had brief looks at a Warbling Vireo followed by some spectacularly close up views of a pair of Hairy Woodpeckers and at one point a Red breasted Sapsucker clambered up one of the utility poles. A Swainson’s Thrush, which was darting in and out of cover along the trail, was probably my best bird of the day as I’m used to seeing them as a distant speck singing at the top of a tall conifer.

Naheeno Park seemed like an entirely different place when compared to my outing in December. Hopefully I’ll be able to wrangle some spare time during the coming semester to visit it again!

3 Responses to “Naheeno Park: May 12th 2010”


  1. 1 edmonton movers June 1, 2010 at 7:34 am

    Wow, Naheeno Park looks really nice. I’ll have to check it out sometime since I haven’t gone birding there yet. Great job spotting that Swainson’s Thrush! -josh

  2. 2 Marc June 7, 2010 at 9:57 am

    Thanks for the comment Josh. Naheeno Park is pretty beautiful plus hardly any people are on the trails making it a great place for birding. Unfortunately if the pace of deforestation and development continues up at SFU we won’t have more than a couple of years to bird the area before it’s all condos.

    Cheers,
    Marc

  3. 3 DD November 14, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    There won’t be a Naheeno Park very soon, that’s for sure, private condos instead, part of SFU concession and contract probably:( I am currently doing research on a beautiful but spooky part of it-have you noticed the abandoned children’s playground there? It dates back from the 70s and the swings are still there…it was a little creepy, but in this creepiness I found beauty:)) I don’t know too much about birds, but you could see the bald eagle near SFU (still, I’m sure it will go away very soon, development is just crazy).
    Love,
    DD


Leave a Reply

