Eurasian Green-winged Teal at Maplewood… Again

I decided to take advantage of the nice weather today and the fact that everyone else would be watching the gold medal hockey game to head out for some birding at Maplewood Conservation Area. My hunch panned out, the place was practically deserted… little did they know that the real gold was to be found here.

I found this Eurasian Green-winged Teal at the same location that I had seen the previous one, Otter Point. It is quite likely that this bird is the same individual that I saw two weeks ago.

The bird was preening itself and splashing the water about quite a bit, much to the irritation of some nearby Mallards who swam off in the opposite direction. In the half hour or so that I spent watching the duck I didn’t notice it associating with a hen as I had seen it do last time. I wonder if something happened to her or if the two separated (I’m not sure to what extent this occurs in the species)? Most Green-winged Teal have formed pairs by March and the remainder will get together during migration or on the breeding grounds so I suppose there is still time for this bird to find a mate, unless it decides to head back to Asia or Europe (1, 2).

It was nice to see such a great bird again, especially seeing as how it marks the end of my two week break from university and the end of the Olympics.

References:

  1. Johnson, Kevin. 1995. Green-winged Teal (Anas crecca), The Birds of North America Online (A. Poole, Ed.). Ithaca: Cornell Lab of Ornithology; Retrieved from the Birds of North America Online: http://bna.birds.cornell.edu.proxy.lib.sfu.ca/bna/species/193doi:10.2173/bna.193
  2. Mckinney, F. 1965a. The displays of the American Green-winged Teal. Wilson Bull. 77:112-121.
0 Responses to “Eurasian Green-winged Teal at Maplewood… Again”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

