Stanley Park: February 1st 2013

I decided to take another walk at Stanley Park yesterday afternoon. The weather was quite nice today, as far as winter goes, with some sun and a temperature of around eight degrees. It turned into a good opportunity to get some close up shots of the regular sparrows and other smaller birds. I spent a decent amount of time at the west end of Lost Lagoon in the vicinity of the stone bridge. There’s always a solid congregation of smaller birds around this spot during the winter.

From the stone bridge I turned north and walked through the forested trails to Beaver Lake. Bird activity in this part of the park is generally quiet during the winter but it’s always nice taking a walk through such beautiful forest so close to the downtown core!

There were several groups of Pine Siskins and Red Crossbills feeding on the cones high up in the treetops throughout the section of forest I walked through.

When I got to Beaver Lake I spent most of my time photographing the birds around the wooden bridge at the northwest corner of the lake. The birds are accustomed to being fed at this spot it seems and will come in for a closer look anytime someone stops by. The Chestnut-backed Chickadees are particularly adept at mobbing visitors for a meal.

It was definitely a great day to be outdoors!

3 Responses to “Stanley Park: February 1st 2013”


  1. 1 financial help September 18, 2013 at 8:36 pm

    Why people still use to read news papers when in this
    technological globe all is available on net?

  2. 2 Lorrie November 28, 2013 at 12:15 am

    Fantastic blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many choices out there that I’m totally confused ..
    Any ideas? Many thanks!

  3. 3 bignosycat January 7, 2014 at 1:02 am

    I love the photo of the Chickadee I only get the black ones. Unable to feed the birds anymore I place hulled sunflower seeds and chopped up nuts for my Chickadees. (seasonal Brazil, Walnuts, Hazelnuts) I will venture to Beaver lake to check them out.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

